For new merchants and old, for individual businesses and enterprises, Shopify is one of the best self-hosted e-commerce platforms out there.
Shopify is easy to use, and easier to scale. You’ll be able to proceed with Payment processing, shipping, and fulfillment orders without much struggle.
You’ll do it all better with a little learning through a free trial. Shopify’s free trial is an excellent way to learn and test the platform for no money.
But what about when the trial ends? Do you lose the store and the progress? Let’s find out.
What Happens when Shopify Trial Ends
Once your free trial ends on Shopify, your account will be paused, unless you have selected a priced plan.
Shopify will restrict your access to the admin page of your store. Your account will be held for 30 days. During this time, none of your progress will be deleted.
Within a month, you will be expected to pay for one of the plans to get to work again.
If you don’t select any of the plans, your Shopify store will be deleted at the end of the 30 days.
If, however, you had already selected one of the priced plans during your free trial, your account will be charged with the subscription fee.
Will Shopify Charge Me If I Deactivate My Store?
First of all, you would not have the freedom to deactivate, delete or pause your store when you are on a free trial.
You would be able to manually pause or deactivate your store only if you are on board with a priced plan.
Shopify will not charge you if you deactivate your store with all outstanding payments cleared.
This means that you would have to cancel any third party app, custom domain, or gift card subscriptions before you deactivate.
How To Reactivate A Paused Shopify Account
It’s fine if your account has been paused after the free trial. You can reactivate it and not lose any of the progress you made.
Shopify will hold onto all the data securely for 30 days.
To reactivate a paused Shopify account, all you need to do is log in to your Shopify account using the email address and passwords you signed up with.
You will be directed to the Admin settings. Here you would then have to select one of the paid plans. Now you will be billed the subscription fee and your account will be active and running again.
How Do I Delete Inactive Shopify After Trial?
After your trial has ended, you will be able to delete your account only if you are signed up on a priced plan.
3-day free trial: If your account is inactive after the 3-day trial and you have not proceeded with a paid plan, your account will be deleted automatically.
Paid plan: If you have a plan selected, you will have the liberty to log in and deactivate your account after the trial.
To deactivate your account after the trial, you would need to visit Settings, followed by a plan. Here you will find the option to Deactivate your store.
Shopify’s free trials are fun and enlightening to use. You would be able to build your store, customize the page using the thousands of available themes, fulfill orders, and even take payments if you have the right plan selected.
Many become concerned about what would happen to the progress they made with the store once the trial ends. Rest assured; you can reactivate your frozen account.
You would only have to sign up for the available paid plans. Remember your account will be held for 30 days with all the data and progress.